ST PATRICK – CHRIST BE WITH ME …

Saint Patrick, whose day at least those of us of Irish descent will celebrate today, once wrote a wonderful prayer:

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me,
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

Patrick was a man driven by his love of God to be a missionary to the Irish people. In “A Letter to the Soldiers of Coroticus,” Patrick wrote:

The Confession of Saint Patrick.

I am Patrick, yes a sinner and indeed untaught; yet I am established here in Ireland where I profess myself bishop.

I am certain in my heart that “all that I am,” I have received from God.

So I live among barbarous tribes, a stranger for the love of God.
He himself testifies that this is so.

I never would have wanted these harsh words to spill from my mouth; I am not in the habit of speaking so sharply.

Yet now I am driven by the zeal of God, Christ’s truth has aroused me.

I speak out too for the love of my neighbors who are my only sons;
for them I gave up my home country, my parents and even pushing my own life to the brink of death.

If I have any worth, it is to live my life for God so as to teach these peoples;
even though some of them still look down on me.

This excellent and yet brief video gives you a glimpse of this man of God.

Leave a Reply

